Home » Art » Art Class Updates

Art Class Updates

I have recently been inspired to learn art. I have a penchant for pictures and have doodled for many years without any plan. It took a friend to recognize my potential to be an artist and to show me the way.

Here, I am going to keep updating my tryst with learning the amazing skill to draw and paint.

My first art class.

Augustine and Victoria turned up exactly on time.

I used newsprint sheets – ( the quality of paper used to print newspaper in?) and they asked me to draw a tree, a house and a girl the way I would draw them. Then he drew a series of shapes and asked me to pick crayon colours of my choice and fill them in. First I had to colour them one direction and then the other . Some vertically, some horizontally. Some along the shape. then a series of curves squiggles..more caterpillars..squiggles..circles, ovals..colour shade them… finally he drew a tree and asked me to colour the bark and leaves the way I visualize it..

Then told me about how the direction of the strokes can give volume and a 3d feel to an otherwise flat picture – to my eyes it still looked flat. i guess I have to train my eyes to look at it….. artistically. End of the hour he asked me to go around looking at the trees around my neighborhood… get a feel.. maybe carry a sketch pad… visualize how the tree is in my mind.. embrace it in my mind..capture the way the branches branch out.. the leaves …er….leave out (or did he say that?) maybe take a picture with a camera.. then come back and draw from memory. refer picture if I need inspiration.

The next time you see someone with a sketch pad, a 6B extra dark pencil, closely examining trees near your house, it could be me!

Class-2

I was finishing my third tree- a part of the 3 tree home assignment when my art teachers walked in this afternoon. They said nice things about my pictures- particularly one that has various shades of black.

Tree01
Tree02
Tree03

Today's class was all about shading and how to identify the different shades in objects.

So I was asked to shade with a black ( 6B-Staedler) pencil. Also to identify the different shades of black in percentages.So I drew little boxes and shaded. I did a 100% black to a 0% …grey…white almost- I left the last square blank:-) The tough part was to identify the shades after the shading was done. I had to pretend like I actually made out a difference between 100% black and 95% black. Except for some spotted gaps my 100% shading looked as black as even the 75% black square. Anyway, I learnt to hold the pencil lighter and tilt it close to the paper to make it look greyer as it progressed.

I tried my newly learnt shading tricks with some wax crayons as well. Victoria asked

Shadeblack
Shadewax

me to identify the shades of colour on my skin- I had casually propped my hand on the table without knowing that I was inviting trouble! I hoped for some help to come my way, and I was disappointed. They just stood around me and egged me to go on and take a guess. So there I was looking at my hand like I was for the first time and said something that convinced them that I was at least making an attempt!

Then came the tougher part. Today I attempted shading my first live still picture! And I tell you its an eye sore but a decent first attempt? Victoria tilted the cup a bit, held it higher than my eye level and placed it on the table for me to get various "captures".

Firstcup
IMG_2687

Class 3

Today was learning to shade shapes day. We took out Akank's blocks for want of cylinders, triangles, rectangles and squares. So I was asked ta imagine a cylinder on a flat surface with the sun shining on it from different directions. I had ta shade the different parts of the cylinder. They let me decide what percentages of black I would choose to shade the different sides of the cylinder.

Shade 006
Shade 007

It turned out to be a science lesson totally. Suddenly I had to recall some science facts of how long the shadow would be if the sun shone on it at 60 degrees from the left. No wonder the wise men said " Learning to draw is a science". It takes an Einstein to be a Rembrandt.

Anyways, there I was imagining the sun shining at the cylinder and trying to bring it to life with my 6B Staedler. And Viola!  It did look 3D like and ready to roll when I was done – with a little help from Augustine and Victoria, of course.

Then I shaded a square block, without much help. Now my home assignment is to draw three shapes, from three different angles in three different positions. So does that make it 3 x3 x 3 or just 3 x 3?

Now I have to revise my math skill as well.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

