Home » Family » A tribute to my dad on Fathers day 2010.

A tribute to my dad on Fathers day 2010.

For every thing you taught me, dad, I will always be indebted.
For everything you bought for me, dad, I will always be thankful.
For every time you indulged me, dad, I will always feel secure.
For every occasion that you were present, dad, I will forever be grateful.
Every little thing I learnt from you , dad, I will always treasure.

Dad

I miss you, dad…
when I make dishes you would have enjoyed
when there are cricket matches being played
when I dry or fold clothes and remember how you would always insist on doing them
when I run out of ideas of what to cook when you would have stepped right in and helped
when I use less oil in dishes when you would have liked more
when there is soft fresh bread, I know how much you enjoyed them with dollops of butter
when I open the newspaper in the mornings and find no crime reports and know how safe you would have felt
when I grate coconuts because you taught me how it is done
when I wash the whites because I know how much you loved to use ‘blue’
when I teach my daughter how to tie her shoe laces, ‘cos you taught me how it was done
when I iron her uniform and remember how you would iron mine
when I polish her shoes and remember how my shoes always shone because you polished them
when I see children learning to cycle, because you taught me how to
when we celebrate festivals because you were a big part of all of mine
when I blog about the things you did for me that it makes me cry

I am glad that you did not have to suffer much and be in pain when you got sick. I only hope and pray that I am made of the same good gene that made you so resilient,bighearted and liberal.

Love you daddy.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “A tribute to my dad on Fathers day 2010.

Leave a Reply

